Industry mapUS humanoid robot companies

11 US-Based Humanoid Robot Programs With Public Evidence

A methodology-based list of 11 active US-based complete humanoid platforms, with product status, operating base, ownership and current public evidence. Acquired, paused and incomplete programs are listed separately.

By TechniaHQRobot17 min read

Introduction

The United States has no official registry for humanoid manufacturers, so company counts change with the definition. This census includes a business only when it has a principal operating base in the United States and public evidence of a program developing a complete mobile robot with a human-like upper body. The roster includes explicitly labeled development programs as well as demonstrated hardware; it does not count eleven delivered platforms. A hand supplier, an AI model company or a foreign manufacturer with a US sales office does not qualify. Wheeled robots are included when they have a torso, two arms and a general manipulation role; ownership and country of origin are reported separately.

Using that rule, the tracked field runs from established manufacturers such as Tesla, Boston Dynamics and Agility Robotics to home-robot companies such as Sunday Robotics and Weave Robotics. Commercial status varies by company. Digit has documented customer operations, Figure publishes delivery counts and NEO has a consumer order program. Other programs remain prototypes, pilots or pre-production systems. The table records evidence rechecked through September 26, 2026 and keeps each status tied to its source.

Key findings

  • Eleven active US-based companies have public evidence of a complete humanoid or wheeled humanoid program under the definition used here.
  • Agility Robotics reports more than 65,000 Digit 4 operational hours across named customer sites, while Figure reported more than 350 Figure 03 deliveries by April 2026.
  • 1X is Norwegian-founded but now operates from Palo Alto; it is listed as US-based with its origin stated, not recast as a US-founded company.
  • Boston Dynamics is headquartered in Massachusetts and owned by Hyundai Motor Group, so headquarters and ownership point to different countries.
  • Several widely cited “humanoid companies” build hands, AI models or components only and are excluded from the manufacturer count.

Active US-based complete humanoid programs

Status reflects primary-source evidence rechecked through September 26, 2026. “Not disclosed” is used instead of inferred funding, autonomy or shipment figures.

CompanyUS base and originRobot / formPublic objectiveCurrent evidenceAutonomy classification
TeslaAustin, Texas; US-foundedOptimus; bipedGeneral-purpose work, initially inside TeslaActive development and internal factory demonstrations; no public sale or verified fleet countAutonomy not disclosed for individual clips
Figure AICalifornia; US-founded in 2022Figure 03; bipedIndustrial logistics and later home workFigure says more than 350 Figure 03 units had been delivered by April 2026; BMW programs are documented separatelySupervised autonomous to autonomous, depending on the named demo
Agility RoboticsOregon; 2015 Oregon State University spin-offDigit; biped with two armsRepetitive material movement in logistics and manufacturingCommercial agreements and recurring tote-moving work are publicly documentedSupervised autonomous with fleet monitoring
ApptronikAustin, Texas; 2016 University of Texas spin-offApollo; biped and industrial configurationsMaterial movement, kitting, inspection and machine tendingPilots and commercial agreements with Mercedes-Benz and Jabil; public unit counts not disclosedHuman-in-the-loop or supervised autonomous; task-specific evidence varies
Boston DynamicsWaltham, Massachusetts; US-founded, Hyundai-ownedAtlas; electric bipedIndustrial material handlingProduction-ready model announced in January 2026; Hyundai is the first customer with 2026 fleet shipment scheduledSupervised autonomous; deployment results not yet public
1X TechnologiesPalo Alto, California; Norwegian-foundedNEO; soft bipedHome assistance$200 deposit, $20,000 Early Access ownership price and US deliveries planned for 2026Human-in-the-loop plus foundational autonomy
Reflex RoboticsUnited States; detailed corporate history not publicly disclosedReflex; wheeled humanoidManufacturing and logistics jobsCompany shows supervised work and explicitly describes real-time supervision; price appears only in recruiting materialHuman-in-the-loop / supervised autonomous
Sunday RoboticsCalifornia; US-basedMemo; wheeled home robotDishes, coffee and laundry in homesFree late-2026 beta applications; no retail sale before beta completionCompany-classified autonomous demonstrations; independent validation absent
Weave RoboticsCalifornia; US-basedIsaac 0 and Isaac 1; stationary or mobile home platformsLaundry and household assistanceIsaac 0 has a limited California order program; Isaac 1 deposits target fall 2026Supervised autonomous; remote assistance terms should be checked per service plan
Persona AIHouston, Texas; US-basedIndustrial humanoid conceptShipbuilding, manufacturing and hazardous workPrototype and partner development; production model and delivery evidence not yet publicInsufficient evidence
FoundationSan Francisco Bay Area; US-basedPhantom; biped industrial robotGeneral industrial laborPublic robot program and hiring; customer, shipment and autonomy data remain limitedAutonomy not disclosed

Programs that need a separate label

These names should not be added to the active-company total without qualification.

CategoryCompany or exampleReason for separate treatment
AcquiredFauna RoboticsFauna announced that it joined Amazon in March 2026. Sprout remains a documented robot, but the company is no longer counted as an independent active manufacturer.
Paused or closedK-Scale LabsThe open-source K-Bot/K-Scale material remains online, but current commercial operations and shipping are not confirmed by an active official sales channel.
Stealth with incomplete evidenceThe Bot CompanyThe company describes a helpful robot but does not publish enough body-form evidence to classify it as a humanoid manufacturer.
Components onlyPSYONIC, Shadow Robot, SharpaThese companies build hands or manipulation hardware, not a complete mobile humanoid platform.
AI onlySkild AI, Physical IntelligenceThey build general robotics models or policies and may work across humanoid hardware, but do not market a complete humanoid robot.
Foreign company with US presenceUnitree, UBTECH, Fourier IntelligenceA US distributor, office or customer does not change the manufacturer’s national origin.

How an “American humanoid company” is defined

The company must have its main operating headquarters or principal robot-development organization in the United States. A US-incorporated subsidiary of a foreign manufacturer is not enough. Conversely, a company can qualify as US-based while retaining a foreign founding history, as 1X does after moving its headquarters to Palo Alto. Ownership is another field Boston Dynamics remains a Massachusetts robotics company even though Hyundai Motor Group is its controlling owner.

The robot must be a complete mobile platform intended to manipulate the physical world. The census accepts bipeds and wheeled humanoids because both use human-scale arms and workstations. Fixed arms, disembodied hands, telepresence screens and social heads are excluded. A public render alone is insufficient; the company must show hardware, a named prototype or a credible development program.

The industrial group is ahead on deployment evidence

Agility has the clearest distinction between a robot, a factory and a customer workflow. Its official company history says Digit moved more than 100,000 totes at one Georgia facility, while commercial announcements identify customers such as GXO, Schaeffler and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. Figure reports more than 350 Figure 03 deliveries and publishes detailed BMW results, although those results must be separated by generation and program.

Apptronik’s Mercedes-Benz agreement is explicitly a pilot. Boston Dynamics calls the 2026 Atlas production-ready and says Hyundai is the first customer, but scheduled shipment is not the same as completed deployment. Tesla shows Optimus inside its own organization but does not publish audited shift hours, customer deliveries or a public product configuration. These differences make a single “deployed” label misleading.

Home robots use different commercial models

NEO is offered through a refundable deposit, an Early Access ownership price and a monthly plan. The offer also describes Expert Mode, which means a person can remotely help with chores the robot cannot complete. Weave sells or subscribes Isaac 0 in a limited California service area and takes a deposit for Isaac 1. Sunday’s Memo is not for sale; selected households can apply to a free beta launching late in 2026.

A deposit proves customer acquisition, not general autonomy or mass delivery. A beta proves field testing, not product reliability. Each commercial label in this census therefore tracks the exact transaction public purchase, subscription, refundable reservation, enterprise quote or application-only program.

Founders, funding and stealth claims require restraint

Founders and funding are included only when an official company page, filing or announcement supports them. Private-company databases frequently disagree about headquarters, founding dates and round totals. Those disagreements are more likely after acquisitions, headquarters moves or extended financing rounds.

Stealth companies present a second problem. A recruiting page can show that engineers are building a robot, but it may not establish the machine’s form, customer or current status. The Bot Company is therefore listed as incomplete evidence rather than counted as a confirmed humanoid manufacturer.

Limitations and missing information

  • There is no government or industry registry of US humanoid manufacturers, so the count depends on a published definition.
  • Private companies can change headquarters, ownership and project status without a synchronized public filing.
  • Company-reported deliveries and work hours are not necessarily independently audited.
  • Stealth programs and recently closed companies may be undercounted because current primary evidence is unavailable.
  • A wheeled humanoid is included only when it has a complete human-scale manipulation body; readers using a biped-only definition will obtain a smaller count.

Conclusion

US-based humanoid programs target different buyers and tasks. Agility, Figure, Apptronik, Boston Dynamics and Tesla focus on industrial workflows, with public evidence ranging from recurring customer work to scheduled fleets and internal tests. 1X, Sunday and Weave focus on home use, where service coverage, remote assistance and household reliability are central operating constraints. Reflex uses a wheeled base and explicit supervision for factory work, while Persona and Foundation remain earlier-stage programs with limited public operating data.

For readers comparing companies, useful checks include whether a robot shipped, whether it repeated a customer task across shifts, whether a human intervened and whether a buyer can purchase the system or only join a waitlist. Applying the published definition leaves eleven active US-based complete-platform programs in this September 2026 review, with acquired, paused and incomplete programs listed separately.

Frequently asked questions

How many American humanoid robot companies are active in 2026?

This census identifies eleven active US-based companies with public evidence of a complete biped or wheeled humanoid program. The total changes under a biped-only definition and may change as stealth companies publish hardware, projects close or foreign-founded companies move headquarters. It is a methodology-based count, not an official government statistic.

Is 1X an American humanoid robot company?

1X is Norwegian-founded and developed early robots in Norway, but the company now describes Palo Alto as its headquarters. This article lists it as US-based while preserving the founding origin. That is more precise than calling it simply American or Norwegian because headquarters, founding history and current engineering footprint are different facts.

Which American humanoid company has the strongest deployment evidence?

Agility Robotics publishes the clearest evidence of repeated customer work, including tote movement and named commercial relationships. Figure also publishes substantial BMW operating data and a recent unit-delivery count. The comparison remains imperfect because companies report different metrics, generations, task definitions and intervention policies, and the numbers are not audited under one standard.

Can consumers buy an American humanoid robot now?

1X accepts a refundable NEO deposit and publishes ownership and subscription prices. Weave offers Isaac 0 in a limited California program and reservations for Isaac 1. Sunday Memo is beta-only. These offers are not equivalent one may be a preorder, another a regional service and another an application for testing rather than a normal retail shipment.

Why are hand and AI companies excluded?

The article counts companies developing complete mobile humanoid platforms, including the development-stage programs explicitly labeled in the table. A company supplying tactile hands, actuators, foundation models or simulation software can be crucial to the industry without manufacturing a humanoid body. Combining component makers with full-platform companies would inflate the count and make national comparisons impossible because the same supplier can serve several competing robots.

Does Hyundai ownership make Boston Dynamics a Korean company?

Boston Dynamics is headquartered in Massachusetts and originated in the United States, while Hyundai Motor Group is its controlling owner. Both facts belong in the company record. This census classifies operating base and origin separately from ownership, avoiding the false choice of assigning a multinational company to only one national category.

Sources and methodology

Companies were checked against official product, company, order, acquisition and partnership pages. A complete-platform rule was applied consistently to bipeds and wheeled humanoids. Status words such as pilot, deployment, beta, reservation and shipment retain the manufacturer’s documented meaning.

The census was rechecked on September 26, 2026. Missing founder, funding, unit and autonomy data remain undisclosed rather than being reconstructed from investor databases or social posts.

Source review notes

Review date recorded July 11, 2026

Supported by the cited sources

  • Eleven active companies meet the stated complete-platform and US-base criteria.
  • Fauna Robotics publicly announced its acquisition by Amazon.
  • Company origin, headquarters and ownership are recorded separately.

Not confirmed or incomplete

  • Current operating status of K-Scale Labs is not confirmed through an active official sales channel.
  • The Bot Company has not published enough body-form evidence to count as a humanoid manufacturer.
  • Private funding totals and customer fleet counts are omitted where primary documents are unavailable.

Likely to change quickly

  • Headquarters, acquisitions, stealth-company disclosures and 2026 beta programs can change quickly.

Share this article

Share the current TechniaHQRobot article page.

Continue reading

Open the latest robotics reporting, Physical AI analysis and hardware notes.

Browse robotics news
Article by @techniahqrobot