Industry analysisChina humanoid robot production

China and the United States What the Humanoid Production Numbers Actually Show

A documented comparison of Chinese and US humanoid production, shipments, factory capacity, supply chains, orders, pilots and government support.

By TechniaHQRobot18 min read

Introduction

China and the United States report humanoid progress in incompatible units. A report released at the 2026 World Robot Conference says China shipped more than 40,000 humanoid robots in the first half of 2026 and accounted for 97 percent of global shipments under that report’s market definition. Unitree separately says it shipped more than 5,500 humanoids in 2025 and produced more than 6,500. AgiBot’s production counter reached 20,000 robots on September 24, 2026 across its portfolio. Figure says it had delivered more than 350 Figure 03 robots by April 2026. Agility’s Oregon RoboFab advertises peak capacity of 10,000 Digit robots per year, but capacity is not output.

This article keeps those categories separate. A factory nameplate is production capacity. A machine leaving a line is manufactured. A delivered machine has reached a recipient. A purchase order can be paid, conditional or non-binding. A pilot agreement can involve one robot and no sale. Government targets are policy, not shipments. The global totals themselves show why company counts cannot be added mechanically: the International Federation of Robotics reported about 7,000 humanoids sold worldwide in 2025 for its industrial and professional-service scope, while Omdia, as cited by AgiBot, estimated about 13,000 humanoid shipments under a broader market classification. Neither country provides a complete audited national total.

Key findings

  • A 2026 World Robot Conference report puts China above 40,000 humanoid shipments in the first half of 2026 and at 97 percent of global shipments under its stated market definition; this is a report figure, not an audited national registry.
  • US manufacturers publish substantial planned capacity, but Figure’s 350-plus delivered Figure 03 units are the clearest recent US delivery number found.
  • Unitree explicitly separates 2025 output from shipments, preventing a common mistake in industry comparisons.
  • AgiBot said its 20,000th robot rolled off the production line on September 24, 2026. The milestone covers its robot portfolio and should not be read as 20,000 full-size humanoids delivered to paying customers.
  • China has a dense domestic component and manufacturing ecosystem, while US companies in this source set have prominent frontier-AI partnerships, capital-intensive factories and named industrial programs. These are different evidence categories and are not combined into one score.

Documented production evidence by country

Numbers retain the scope and wording of the source. They are not combined into an audited national total.

MetricChinaUnited StatesWhat can be concluded
Units shippedWorld Robot Conference report: more than 40,000 humanoid robots shipped in China in H1 2026, representing 97% of global shipments under that report’s definition. Unitree and AgiBot company figures use separate scopes and are not added to this total.No complete national total. Figure more than 350 Figure 03 units delivered by April 2026.The conference report supports a large Chinese shipment lead under its stated market definition; it is not an audited national registry and should not be merged with company counters.
Units manufacturedUnitree more than 6,500 humanoids produced in 2025. AgiBot 20,000th robot off its line on September 24, 2026 across its product portfolio.Figure demonstrates one Figure 03 per hour and reports deliveries; Tesla output remains undisclosed.Manufactured is not the same as shipped or deployed.
Production capacityMultiple Chinese factories announce lines and annual targets; comparable audited utilization is unavailable.Agility RoboFab states peak annual capacity of 10,000 Digit robots. Figure BotQ initially targeted 12,000 units per year.Nameplate capacity shows equipment and process ambition, not actual annual output.
Paid ordersSome Chinese companies announce order values or large unit totals, but payment and binding terms are often unclear.Agility has cited commercial orders with conditions; detailed customer payment schedules are private.Order headlines cannot be added to shipment totals.
PilotsBroad automotive trials involving UBTECH, AgiBot and other suppliers are public, frequently without robot counts or shift data.BMW, GXO, Schaeffler, Mercedes-Benz, Jabil, Toyota and Hyundai programs are named in official announcements.The US sample offers stronger customer-specific documentation, not necessarily greater volume.
Government supportNational and local policy explicitly promotes humanoids, innovation centers, standards and industrial clusters.Federal support is distributed across research, defense, manufacturing and AI programs; no single comparable national humanoid plan was found.Policy architecture differs and cannot be converted directly into units.

Major manufacturers and the latest quantified evidence

A blank figure means the company did not publish a comparable current number in the primary sources reviewed.

CountryManufacturerPublished product or factory evidenceClassification
ChinaUnitreeMore than 5,500 humanoid shipments and more than 6,500 units produced in 2025, according to its clarification.Units shipped and manufactured; company-reported
ChinaAgiBot20,000th robot production-line milestone on September 24, 2026; this is a portfolio production count, not a customer-delivery total.Portfolio production milestone and analyst shipment estimate
ChinaUBTECHWalker industrial programs and annual-report disclosures; exact comparable shipped-humanoid total not used here.Pilots, orders and company reporting; scope varies
ChinaFourier IntelligenceGR-series commercial and research programs; current audited annual output not disclosed.Product availability and deployments, no comparable total
United StatesFigure AIMore than 350 Figure 03 units delivered by April 2026; one-unit-per-hour line demonstrated.Delivered units and demonstrated line rate; company-reported
United StatesAgility RoboticsRoboFab peak capacity of 10,000 per year; customer work documented.Capacity and deployment, not 10,000 units produced
United StatesTeslaLarge production goals discussed by executives, but current completed units and external shipments are not publicly disclosed.Planned capacity or internal production claim
United States1X TechnologiesNEO Factory announced for consumer production; completed 2026 deliveries not yet quantified.Planned production and preorder program
United StatesBoston DynamicsProduction-ready Atlas and a Hyundai fleet scheduled for 2026.Announced customer shipment; completed count not public
United StatesApptronikManufacturing partnerships and customer pilots; Apollo unit output not public.Pilot and scaling agreement

Production, shipment and deployment are different ledgers

Unitree’s clarification publishes two separate numbers: output above 6,500 and shipments above 5,500 for 2025. The gap can include inventory, internal units, timing and channel stock. AgiBot’s 20,000th robot milestone is a production-line counter across a portfolio. It does not prove that 20,000 full-size humanoids were paid for, delivered or operating in factories.

Figure’s 350-plus figure is described as delivered Figure 03 units. Agility’s 10,000 figure is peak annual factory capacity. These values answer different questions and cannot be placed in one bar chart labeled “robots produced” without distortion. A reliable comparison therefore keeps a ledger for capacity, manufactured units, shipments, deliveries, orders and active deployments.

China’s advantage begins below the final assembly line

China’s robotics ecosystem sits near large domestic industries for batteries, electric motors, power electronics, precision machining, cameras and contract manufacturing. Humanoid suppliers can source or iterate many subsystems inside regional clusters. Government policy also names humanoids as a strategic emerging sector and supports innovation centers, standards and pilot applications.

That proximity does not mean every critical component is domestic or equivalent. High-end reducers, force-torque sensors, encoders, tactile skins, GPUs and precision bearings can still depend on specialist suppliers or imports. The useful claim is supply-chain density and manufacturing speed, not complete technological self-sufficiency.

The US advantage is concentrated in AI and customer integration

US companies have access to frontier multimodal models, large cloud and chip ecosystems, deep venture financing and industrial customers willing to run pilots. Figure’s Helix, Apptronik’s partnership with Google DeepMind and NVIDIA’s humanoid platform work illustrate this concentration. Customer announcements often describe the exact task, site and partner even when unit counts remain private.

The manufacturing base is less uniform. Agility operates a dedicated factory in Oregon, Figure runs BotQ and 1X announced a NEO factory, while other companies depend on contract manufacturers or development lines. Large goals from executives should be recorded as targets until production and delivery data appear.

Orders and memorandums are the noisiest numbers

A supplier may announce a framework order, intended purchase, memorandum or potential fleet value before acceptance testing, financing and delivery schedules are complete. Chinese and US announcements both use this language. An order count is strongest when the source identifies a binding customer, paid amount, delivery window and product configuration. Most public releases omit at least one of those fields.

This article therefore does not convert quoted order value into robot units and does not treat a memorandum as a sale. It also avoids adding pilots across companies because one “pilot” can mean a single supervised robot for weeks while another means several robots in recurring operations.

What would make the comparison auditable

The industry needs common quarterly fields completed units by model, external shipments, accepted deliveries, customer-active units, paid orders, cancellations, average operating hours and human-intervention rate. Production capacity should include utilization and yield. Deployment reports should identify the task, site, fleet size and observation period.

Until companies publish those fields, national league tables will remain estimates assembled from incompatible announcements. The present evidence supports a Chinese volume lead, but not a precise national ratio or a claim that every shipped unit is doing economically useful work.

Limitations and missing information

  • No audited national registry reports humanoid output for either country.
  • Unitree, AgiBot and Figure figures are company-reported or based on cited industry analysis, not a common financial standard.
  • Product portfolios differ small educational bipeds, full-size humanoids and wheeled systems may be counted differently.
  • Chinese order releases often omit binding terms; US pilot releases often omit unit counts and operating hours.
  • Component-country attribution is difficult because finished robots contain globally sourced chips, sensors, reducers and software.

Conclusion

The public company disclosures reviewed here are larger for several Chinese suppliers than for individual US suppliers, but they do not produce an audited national total. Unitree’s shipment and output figures and AgiBot’s production milestones use company-specific scopes, while IFR and Omdia publish different global totals because their market definitions differ. China also has dense component and contract-manufacturing clusters plus explicit industrial policy, but the exact country-to-country volume gap cannot be calculated from these disclosures.

The US sample has more public detail around several named customer workflows, frontier model partnerships and dedicated factories with planned capacity. Figure’s delivery count and BMW documentation are current examples; Agility’s RoboFab is capacity, not proof of 10,000 annual units. The source set shows higher disclosed company-level volume figures from several Chinese suppliers and more customer-specific US operating detail, while neither side provides an audited national production ledger.

Frequently asked questions

Does China produce more humanoid robots than the United States?

A report released at the 2026 World Robot Conference says China shipped more than 40,000 humanoid robots in the first half of 2026 and accounted for 97 percent of global shipments under that report’s definition. That supports a large volume lead in this source set, but it is not an audited national registry and its market definition should not be mixed with company-specific production or delivery counts.

Did AgiBot deliver 20,000 humanoid robots?

AgiBot announced that its 20,000th robot came off the production line on September 24, 2026. That is a manufacturing milestone across its product portfolio, not proof that 20,000 full-size humanoids were delivered to paying customers. Production-line counts and shipment counts should stay separate.

Is factory capacity the same as robot production?

No. Agility’s RoboFab peak capacity of 10,000 robots per year and Figure’s initial BotQ target describe what a facility is designed to support. Actual production depends on orders, suppliers, labor, yield and line utilization. A credible production comparison uses completed units, while capacity belongs in a separate column.

Why are announced orders not counted as shipments?

An announcement may describe a memorandum, framework agreement, conditional purchase or intended fleet. Payment, acceptance testing and delivery can occur later or never. Shipments require a robot to leave the supplier for a recipient, and deployment requires evidence that it is operating. Those stages have different commercial and technical meaning.

Which country has the stronger humanoid supply chain?

The Chinese examples in this article emphasize component sourcing and assembly scale; the US examples emphasize AI, software and system integration. This selection does not measure national superiority across those fields. Both groups also use international suppliers for selected sensors, semiconductors, reducers, bearings and production equipment.

Are government targets included in production totals?

No. Chinese policy documents and local plans can direct funding, standards and pilot programs, but a target is not a manufactured unit. US research or industrial grants are also not output. Policy is analyzed as an enabling condition and kept separate from factories, shipped robots, paid orders and active deployments.

Sources and methodology

Primary manufacturer pages were used for company counts, production milestones, line rates, factory capacity and deployment statements. Chinese government publications were used to document policy direction. Every number was assigned to one category capacity, manufactured, shipped, delivered, ordered, piloted or deployed.

Core volume definitions were rechecked on September 26, 2026. No market forecast was converted into actual production, and overlapping company or analyst totals were not added into a national sum. IFR and Omdia totals are kept separate because their humanoid-market scopes differ.

Source review notes

Review date recorded July 11, 2026

Supported by the cited sources

  • Unitree separates more than 6,500 produced from more than 5,500 shipped in 2025.
  • Figure reports more than 350 Figure 03 units delivered by April 2026.
  • Agility’s 10,000 figure is factory peak capacity, not annual output.

Not confirmed or incomplete

  • No audited 2025 or 2026 national humanoid production total exists for either country.
  • The binding status and payment terms of many announced orders are not public.
  • AgiBot’s portfolio production milestones cannot be reduced to full-size humanoids delivered without a model breakdown.

Likely to change quickly

  • 2026 production counters, new factories, order conversions and government programs can change monthly.

Share this article

Share the current TechniaHQRobot article page.

Continue reading

Open the latest robotics reporting, Physical AI analysis and hardware notes.

Browse robotics news
Article by @techniahqrobot